To ensure breadth of knowledge about the Middle Ages worldwide, eligible coursework for the Undergraduate Certificate must span two or more geographical Zones. These are the four Zones:

Zone 1: East and Southeast Asia
Zone 2: South and Central Asia
Zone 3: The Near East and North Africa
Zone 4: Europe, Russia, and the North Atlantic
On the Eligible Courses page, you can find the Zone designation of current courses.
  • Some courses span more than one Zone; for the Certificate requirements, you can count them only once. 
  • Other eligible courses either fall outside the currently defined regional Zones, or are survey courses that don’t focus on any region in particular. These can be counted toward the Certificate, but not the Zone requirement.

The Certificate advisers will be happy to consult with you about the Zone eligibility of current and past courses, so if you have questions, feel free to ask!